The Nile

20130807-115023.jpg

20130807-114804.jpg

On my last Friday in Uganda, we piled into the van and headed to Jinja. I was so excited when I found out that we would be going to Jinja during my stay, and even more excited when I learned that in the afternoon we’d be visiting Amazima. More on that later. In the morning, we went to the Nile and took a boat ride.

It was pretty awesome. We were in a tour boat that was kinda like a large canoe with a canopy. We had a guide who told us about the plants, animals, and the river. We watched as Ugandan fisherman set out to work for the day. We drifted along the shore and watched monkeys playing in the trees overhead and birds hopping from one low-hanging branch to another. As we were sitting, innocently watching all the nature, our guide pointed out a black snake slithering through the grass near the water’s edge. He announced that it was a cobra. Yep – that sufficiently freaked me out. I mean, we had water between us, so I felt 90% safe. But yikes! We also saw a monitor lizard, which was pretty great.

After all the animal watching, we boated over to a small man-made island. The island is located at the source of the Nile. The Nile gets some of its water from Lake Victoria (Sorry JaNahn, I was really close to being in Lake Victoria, even though I’ve promised you I would never do such a thing) but it also gets like 30% of its water from an underground spring. That spring is marked with a source of the Nile sign, where we were able to get out of the boat, wade in the water and take pictures. Enjoy some pictures of our day!

20130807-114833.jpg

20130807-114901.jpg

20130807-114923.jpg

20130807-114943.jpg

20130807-115101.jpg

Leave a comment