Showering in Gulu

On my first night in Gulu, I was out at a restaurant, iMessaging with the wifi, eating Hawaiian pizza and my friend Rachel told me I needed a more African night.

Well… That night back at the hotel showering, I succeeded. Our bathroom had a showerhead but no desgnated shower space or bathtub. The floor was slanted away from the drain and you had to constantly be kicking the water away from the door to prevent flooding out into the hall. If that doesn’t sound like an only in Africa moment, add in having no lights, so this is all going down in the dark with the door open to try and get a little light from the hallway.

Although I must say, despite this – it was the best shower I have had in weeks 🙂

20130711-220316.jpg

Leave a Reply

