getting here

First of all, if you are new to my blog, here is a guest post I did on my friend Cor’s blog with a little bit about why I am in Uganda for the second summer and how I love seeing what God is up to around the world.

A year ago, as I was flying to Africa, I remember thinking, “This sucks.  This is the longest flight(s) of my life.  Thank goodness I am never doing this again.”  And then I found myself back on an airplane a few days ago.  It was still dreadfully long, but much more tolerable… probably because I knew the outcome would be landing in a country that stole my heart.  And it didn’t hurt that I had layovers that were several hours long so I didn’t need to do any running through airports.  Also, on the longest leg of my trip, no one was sitting in the seat next to me!  It was like magic.  I could stretch out all I wanted (within my 2 seat area).

I am sharing a room with my dear friend Jessica, who I met last summer.  It is so exciting to be reunited.  And she made the right choice this morning and let me sleep, rather than waking me up with a good morning song 🙂

I have had a chance to sit down and look at our schedule, and I think it is going to be a packed 4 weeks!  We will be partnering with some of the same ministries as last year, as well as a few new ones.  We will also be going to visit a couple of other cities, which I am super excited about.  All in all, I think it is going to be a great month in Uganda.  I’m super excited for all of the adventures and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for us.

(as a side note, my day off is on Fridays, so there might not be a lot of blog posts between now and next Friday, since I haven’t been here long enough to actually have things happen in my life.  Just like last year, know that my silence doesn’t mean that I have been eaten by a zebra.  Full reports will come your way soon enough.)

Leave a Reply

