Schoolhouse Rock vol. 48: Happy Thanksgiving!

Celebrating Thanksgiving in kindergarten is one of my favorite things.

There is something about sitting down at one giant long table that seats 31 people, wearing our hand-made pilgrim hats, and sharing what we are thankful for before enjoying our Thanksgiving feast that warms my heart.

I have a lot to be thankful for.  In the world of kindergarten, I’m thankful that I’ve got a really great class this year.  I’m thankful for a great team of kindergarten teachers to work with.  I’m thankful that I get to have a job that I love.  But mostly this year I’m super thankful that I get to work with Jill.  Thanks for blessing me each day.  You are amazing 🙂

For our kindergarten Thanksgiving, we always watch the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving movie and then eat pretzels, popcorn, and jellybeans just like the movie.  It is fun and simple.  We also put water in plastic cups for them, and I think they were more excited about the water than the jellybeans.  “Look!  Water”  “We get water!”  “I love water!!!!”

And now, before you all go off and enjoy your own Thanksgiving feasts, let me pass along some advice that you will probably need today.  From my kindergartner to your kitchen: “You shouldn’t lick the floor??”  Even if you drop your favorite food down there… try to resist the urge to lick it up.  (Yes, this important topic dominated the conversation at my end of the table during our Thanskgiving feast for quite a while…)

Leave a Reply

