Schoolhouse Rock vol. 37

Week Two: successfully completed.  How do I know it was successful?

Let me offer you a few bits of evidence.

Evidence #1:

The child who thought that kindergarten was LAME-O in week one is now asking me for blackline masters so he can make his own version of my sweet games at home.  That’s right, kid.  You love school.

Evidence #2:

Student 1: Miss K, you should come over to my house.

Me: What would we do?

Student 1: Well, we have cupcakes!

[ten minutes later]

Student 1: Miss K, I’m gonna invite you over for a sleepover!  We have a guest bedroom.  It can be for adults or children.

Student 2: You are having a sleepover?  Who is coming?

Student 1: Miss K.

Student 2: I want to come!

Student 1: Ok, I can probably invite you too.

And here is an unrelated third story.

During rest time, a child repeatedly asks to get a drink of water.  He had JUST gotten a drink 20 seconds prior, so we denied his request.  He then crawls across the floor, approaches my student teacher, and says pitifully, “Miss H, sometimes people need water to live!”

Leave a Reply

