Schoolhouse Rock vol 36

One really fun thing about having gone to Africa is the number of African students I’ve had over the years.  I have had both parents and former students come up to me and ask me about my trip.  So that is pretty awesome.  Especially since I fell in love with Africa.  If I felt indifferent or didn’t like it, I guess these conversations could have been pretty awkward 😉

But I love that it helps me better understand the culture of some of my students.

Seriously – a lot of points of past miscommunication have been cleared up in my mind.

And bonus – I knew what a little boy meant when he asked to go to his locker and get his rubber (sorry kid – I intentionally put out pencils without erasers, so no, you can’t go get your eraser).  And I understood completely what a little girl was saying when she found out we were going to music and she enthusiastically shouted, “Yes!  Miss K!  Music is my best subject!”  She doesn’t necessarily mean she is awesome at music – she means it is her favorite.

Have spent time in the schools in Kampala, it does make me thankful that my big by American standard’s class size is not 36 students like Little Rina Nursery and Primary School’s kindergarten (top class) class size.  And even more thankful that 36 students would not be considered a small class size in comparison to many schools.

However, there are some small issues that have arisen.  For example, I am constantly motioning for children to come over to me the way that we do in Uganda.  Which is meaningless here.

And I have been really in-tune to the kids raising their eyebrows this past week.  I think, “What are they saying yes to?”  and then I have to talk myself through, “You are not in East Africa.  They are not trying to tell you yes to anything.  Perhaps they are questioning something you said.  Or maybe they are five and just like to wiggle their eyebrows.

And then there is the time I asked the kids to raise their hand and tell me their best color…

But as long as we are talking about Africa, let’s watch some of my favorite Ugandan Top Class students dancing for me:

Leave a Reply

