Baby Emma in a Basket

One of my favorite times of day is the kids devotionals.  We have a book that we read from, and either Uncle Godfrey or Uncle Moses (two of the staff here at Rafiki) translates in Lugandan.  Before the lesson they get out the African drums and we all dance like crazy and sing praise songs.  I love these kids’ hearts for Jesus and I absolutely LOVE watching them dance and sing.  I plan to get some sweet photos of this amazingness to share with you, but for now please use you imagination and know it is better than you are imagining 🙂

Saturday’s lesson was on the birth of Moses.  I happened to be holding baby Emma, one of the most adorable 2/3 year olds you’ll ever meet (I say 2/3 because while his records say 3, he is the size and development of a 2 year old.  Oh, and his full name is Emmanuel, but we call him Emma for short.  It is a pretty common name here).  Side note: the kids are supposed to be resting right now, but the boys’ room has a window that faces the door of my room and right now I can hear their giggles.  I don’t know what they are doing, but it definitely isn’t resting.  I love listening to them laugh.  Anyways, back to Saturday’s devos.  I can’t remember who was translating, but he went and grabbed a basket from the dining table that normally holds bananas, and put it on the floor.  I put Emma in, and pretended to push him down the Nile while I went back to my home, crying.

Emma/Baby Moses floating down the Nile

Auntie Bianca and I then acted out the rest of the story (she played Pharoah’s daughter finding him in the reeds).  It was a hilarious dramatization and super fun.  The kids loved it, and I think that Emma was mostly super confused why we kept making him sit in a fruit basket and passed him back and forth as the story went on.

Have a wonderful day, friends!  I miss you!  (but I’m not going to lie – I’m so glad to be here).

One thought on “Baby Emma in a Basket

Leave a Reply

