I am blessed.

This has been one of those days that just blows me away with encouragement.

I have to admit, I was not as excited as usual for my birthday – maybe I’m just tired of getting older?

I was much younger in this picture. And my sister was super excited that I had arrived in her life.

But my birthday just served to remind me of how blessed I am.

To be perfectly honest, if you’d asked me at pretty much any point growing up what I thought my life would be like at 29, my answer would not have described my current life.  The journey God has taken me on certainly has not been at all what I expected.  But I then today I thought about how God has taken such good care of me, and blessed me with so many amazing people in my life, and given me some incredible opportunities.  I still am excited for what He has in store for me in the future, but looking back, I also would not have want to have missed any stops along the way or missed out on the ways He has worked in my life up till now.

Facebook tells me that 103 friends posted on my wall to wish me a happy birthday.  What facebook doesn’t tell you is how awesome it was to receive some encouraging notes from many unexpected, yet awesome people.  From my high school youth pastor’s wife, to my missionary roommate in Japan, to co-workers, to friends, to family.  I just felt so lifted up and cared about.

Then there are the friends who sent me an evite to a fun birthday afternoon in my honor… they literally made an evite just to invite me over.  I felt so special!

I also got to have dinner with my amazing family tonight, and my aunt made me delicious mint chocolate cupcakes.

Cards were written, phone calls were made, texts were sent, gifts were given, and time was spent with people I love.  It was wonderful.  How did I get so lucky to have such encouraging, fun, loving, generous, and amazing friends and family?

The past few weeks have been kind of rough.  Sometimes you just need to feel loved.  And today I certainly did.  Thanks friends!  You are the best.  For reals.  I love you all.  And tonight I will go to sleep with a smile of my face.  🙂

One thought on “I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

