Silver and Gold*

It is important to have good friends.  Friends who will have fun with you, pray for you, speak truth into your life, laugh with you, and be there for you in the good times and bad.

In January, I tend to hibernate.  Maybe it is because it is cold.  Maybe it is because Christmas is over.  Maybe it is because January is my least favorite month.  There is no way to know.

But this weekend has been a gift.  Instead of staying in, I went out.  I went out to a delicious breakfast with a dear friend.  I went out sledding with a family I love.  I drank hot cocoa and ate clementines and homemade kettle corn and laughed with the girls.  I had dinner with my awesome family.  I went to Trader Joe’s with my sister (which we figured out is actually code for run lots of errands, maybe spontaneously see a movie, and always go with to the gas station).  I taught Sunday school with my awesome co-teachers.  I met a friend’s baby and took adorable pictures.

I feel so refreshed and ready to take on the week.  Which is a good thing, because it is parent teacher conference week.

Friends, thank you for being in my life.  I like you an awful lot.

*the title of this post is a tribute to my mom’s voice, ever singing in my ear… “make new friends, but keep the old.  one is silver and the other’s gold.”

5 thoughts on “Silver and Gold*

Leave a Reply

