Life is a Song (or at least it should be)

Last week I was so excited to go to see Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella at the Ordway.  It was a super fun show (seen with incredibly fun people).  Cinderella did a lovely job and the step sisters were hilarious).  A definite highlight was when the fairy godmother was doing her thing and it turned into a black light show.  This made me excitedly remember the terrible black light theater in Prague, which now is a magically ridiculous memory that I can enjoy without feeling too scarred.

Now that I am reflecting on my most recent musical theater experience, I think we should all take a moment to consider the ways in which our lives would be better if we lived inside of a musical.

For example, one time, for my sister’s birthday in the Boundary Waters, I tried to make our lives into a musical for a special birthday present for her.  The first line of the show was, “Rain, water that falls from the sky” and then I proceeded to serenade her with a song about the rainstorm we were experiencing while packing up our tent.  She may disagree, but I maintain that it made a crappy day of muddiness so much brighter.  All because I gave her the gift of song.

Ok, back to the reasons this is a good idea.

  1. Musicals are usually very colorful.  And who doesn’t love a little color in their lives?
  2. You can wear fancy hats.
  3. There is such a sense of community and camaraderie.  Everyone in town knows the same lyrics to the same songs and cheerily sings them together.
  4. Your heart would have a good measure or two to prepare for a change in emotion.  “Am I about the be terrified?  The music warned me, so I am able to properly respond to this scary situation.”  “I was nervous, but now I know that something happy is about to happen!  I can’t wait!”  “I wasn’t sure how I felt, but I listened to the music and now I know that I am in love.”
  5. Have a problem?  Don’t fight about it, sing about it!  Imagine what the world would be like if we sang about our conflicts and feelings, rather than yelled about them.
  6. We’d all be in great shape from dancing all day every day.
  7. I wouldn’t need to spend time figuring out what to wear each day – it would be predetermined and I would have a very small window of time in which to put it on.
  8. We could experience life in so many different time periods.
  9. There would be so much more frolicking in our everyday life.  This is something that I think we all could benefit from.
  10. We can play with all sorts of animals, such as mice, pigeons, and cat puppets operated by puppeteers wearing all black and standing near you, but you wouldn’t acknowledge them.
  11. Life would be so much more magical… and sparks of light and glitter would surround you in those magical moments, so you would be sure to recognize them for what they are.
  12. At some point, you would probably have the opportunity to fly through the air, whether in a bubble or attached to ropes.
  13. Great sound effects to all that happens in life.
  14. Entrance music in everyday life.
  15. Being over the top in all that you do is perfectly acceptable.
  16. You can sing about happy things.  You can sing about sad things.  You can even sing about boring things.  The important thing is that you sing.
  17. The ability to tap dance upside down.
  18. Cheesy lines would be totally acceptable.
  19. Happy endings.

I’m pretty sure that the only downside would be the difficulty in keeping straight some of your friends who have multiple identities in life – such as Townsperson #1 and Dancer #7.  Well, that and laryngitis.

5 thoughts on “Life is a Song (or at least it should be)

  1. I have no words for how amazing this is. I can’t believe how many reasons you came up with…you made a remarkably thorough and well thought out case.

    I also love that you still remember the beginning of my special birthday musical. 10 years later, I hear that line in my head on a regular basis when it starts to rain and it makes me smile. Conclusion: Living life in a musical IS a better way to live.

    (And, this is easily in my top 5 favorite posts you’ve ever written)

    • WOW! Thanks.
      And absolutely I remember your birthday musical. It was epic. And regularly quoted in my head (and probably to you in person when we experience rain together).

  2. New reader here! I’m planning to imagine my day as a musical today (what number will the folks in the doctor’s reception room do?). My daughter still cringes when i burst into song and has forbidden me to dance in public, but if my life were a musical, we would be singing and dancing together!

Leave a Reply

