Crafting for Christmas

Inspired by felt, Pinterest, and a store display, I decided to to a little crafting to help Christmasify my room.

First I decided to put Christmas lights in jars.  This was inspired by our minimal effort Black Friday shopping excursion.  The Gap downtown did this on one of their shelves.  I would have liked it better if I had lights with white cords instead of green, but oh well, what can you do?  

Second, I decided to make a wreath with yarn, felt, and a hot glue gun.  This website had a great tutorial that taught me how to make the flowers.  It was super easy!   

Then I found these trees on pinterest.  It took me a whole week to find the time to finish cutting out the circles, but I am pretty pleased with how they turned out.  These trees look so realistic that I just burn a little Christmas tree scented candle next to it, and It is like I have a real Balsam tree in my bedroom. 

Bonus if you accomplish all of these things while watching Christmas movies on netflix (like me) or ABC Family or the Hallmark channel (if you have a higher commitment to cable).

Now my life is a lot Christmassy if I am downstairs in the living room (where 99.9% of our decorations live), but still a little bit cozy and Christmassy up in my bedroom.  Mission accomplished.  I sure do love the most wonderful time of the year.

 

3 thoughts on “Crafting for Christmas

  1. I’ve already made my feelings on the lights and wreath known, but the trees are new. And they are adorable. I feel like genetics have let me down after seeing those, and seeing the ring Katie posted on fb earlier today.

    • Maybe if we say pretty please she will make us all rings. But yes, I just finished the trees today. I finished cutting out all the circles whiles watching Borrowed Hearts – a made for tv Christmas movie from 1997 with the touched by an angel lady in it. I’m sorry genetics failed you – but at least we finally found evidence (that one picture where you look like mom) to prove you aren’t adopted…

      • Oh, I’ve totally seen that movie. Will (from Will and Grace) is in it as well. I think you’d be hard pressed to find a made for TV Christmas movie from the last 17 years that I haven’t seen multiple times 🙂

        And I’m glad there is one small piece of evidence that I’m not adopted.

Leave a Reply

