a tentative hello; hummus

After taking a couple weeks apart to reflect and think, Kitchen and I decided to give things another try.  I thought that I should go for a fool proof recipe for my first steps back onto her tiled floors.  And I probably should stay away from anything that has pumpkin or apple as an ingredient.

The answer: Hummus!

This hummus recipe is one that my sister-in-law Rachel found on allrecipes.com and then modified.  This was also the perfect excuse to buy a food processor: something I’ve wanted for years.  I had a couple of Target giftcards that had been hanging out in my purse for quite a while.  This was a great purchase to use them for.

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups canned garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • a little less than 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, halved
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pinch paprika
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh parsley
Directions:
  1. Buy or find in your cupboard the above ingredients.  I will save you the google and tell you that Tahini is sesame seed something.  It can be found in the ethnic food section of your grocery store.  I was shocked that Target had it.  Good job, Target.  I also hear that you can substitute peanut butter if you want. 
  2. Now take a look at the things you bought.  At this point it is ok if you think, “Why did I buy parsley?  Was I misreading paprika?”  You can take a picture looking confused with the parsley.  Later you will blog about it and re-read the ingredient list and see that your parsley purchase was totally legit. 
  3. Put the garbanzo beans, tahini, lemon juice, salt, garlic, and water in the food processor.  Now process. 
  4. You are done.
  5. Feel free to top with olive oil, paprika, and parsley before serving.
  6. Enjoy with your favorite dip-able hummus items.  This could be something like pita bread, carrots, or crackers.  The sky is the limit. 
You can find the original recipe here.
Thanks Rachel for the modifications!
2 thoughts on “a tentative hello; hummus

Leave a Reply

