Turtles and Cakes

Question 1: Have you been to Cafe Latte?

Question 2:  Have you eaten their turtle cake?

If the answer to either question was no, please stop reading, go do what you need to do to change your answer to yes, and then come back.  

Alright, welcome back to my blog.  Please continue reading at this point.

I had been looking forward to Sunday for many weeks. months.  years.  I didn’t have a paper chain to count down (except in my heart) but I had been checking my calendar for weeks to see if it was THE weekend yet.  Not only did I get to hang out with some of my favorite people, but we were also going to make a delicious Turtle Cake. 

It was a great day for baking.  And for learning.

I learned that even though our grandmas use the lowercase t to indicate teaspoon, and the uppercase T to indicate Tablespoon, sometimes the teaspoon’s label includes an uppercase T right ON the teaspoon.  Who is right?  The teaspoon maker?  Or all the grandmothers in the world?  Obviously the grandmothers.

this photo is not to imply Brooke is a grandma. Rather, she is modeling the measuring part of this point

I learned not to be scared of frosting a cake.  Sometimes it will go well, and look petaly.  And you will become famous for your frosting technique.  No, I have no idea what I was doing.  Someday I will google it and learn the real frosting technique.  Or maybe I won’t.  This worked fine. I learned that sprinkling pecans truly is an art form. 

I learned that creating candy corn shavings is a great way to pass the time while the cake is the oven. 

I learned that Jill once had short hair.  I learned about weddings from 11 years ago.  I learned about photography that wasn’t digital (jk jk, I used to work at Proex developing film and printing pictures.  I can smell the chemicals now…) 

I learned that it is tough being so popular, and sometimes you cause trouble when the mom and the kids both want to hang out with you.  Boys: have your people call my people.  We’ll set something up.  Jill – sorry for causing problems.  I’ll try not to be so fun next time so that I’m less in demand…

I learned that turtle cakes are delicious.  And obviously should be eaten right after baking them. 

I learned that if you make this cake, you could charge $10 a slice.  People would pay it.  It is just that good. 

Thank you Cafe Latte for sharing your recipe with us.  I think our cake is prettier than yours.  But we couldn’t have done it without you. 

Thanks for a fun day of baking, girls!!

If you want to make your own turtle cake, here is a link to the recipe that Cafe Latte has up!  Next I want to make their chicken salsa chili.  It is pretty much the second best thing I’ve ever tasted (after this cake of course).

3 thoughts on “Turtles and Cakes

  1. Oh my word. Cafe Latte is unreal. I love that you made a baking day out of their turtle cake (which I solemnly swear I have consumed on multiple occasions) with the ladies because there is no way that anyone should walk that path alone.

Leave a Reply

