Let’s give S Mpls a Slow Clap

Who doesn’t love a good slow clap to congratulate them on a job well done?  I know it always puts a smile on my face.  And hopefully it puts a smile of Wise Acre Eatery, a new-ish restaurant in South Minneapolis, because this restaurant is above and beyond amazing.

unfortunately I only have a side view. Trust me when I say the front is darling

Amber and I went there on a whim (and by whim I mean she had seen it and read it was delicious, but mostly we were hungry and needed to find somewhere in the area to eat).  It was the best whim of my life.

Let’s start with the atmosphere.  It was like out of a magazine.  Think simple industrial meets garden cozy.  It is a little place with a lot to offer.  When I first looked at the menu I felt like there weren’t a lot of meal options.  But then I saw that each option looked incredible.  And so different from other restaurants I have been to.  Then I saw that they have a farm where they grow all their own food, and their menu changes with the change in crops.  Fresh, organic, free-range, local, scrumptious.

I ate the brie and bacon burger.  Because cooking meat scares me, i don’t know when I’d last had a hamburger.  It seemed like the right thing to do.  It was just the right size – not so giant, but enough to fill you up.  I had wild rice slaw on the side as well as french fries with their homemade rhubarb ketchup.  I’m fairly certain that the burger is the best I’ve ever had in my life.  Rhubarb ketchup – I’ve never had anything like it.  I am a fan.

Amber had a salad that looked beyond amazing.  Every fresh vegetable imaginable, quinoa, hard boiled eggs, and a thick cut slice of bacon.  Let’s talk about the bacon for a moment.  Amber had read reviews of the restaurant that couldn’t stop talking about the bacon and how it is without compare.  Amber was thrilled that her salad included a slice.  She savored it throughout her meal, enjoying the last few bites after her salad was gone.  I can also attest to the heavenly-ness of it.

Most of the meals on the menu were in the $12-$20 price range, which is a bit fancier than Amber and I usually dine together, but we both agreed it was worth every penny.

Word on the street is that the custard is to-die-for.  The appetizers all looked super interestingly tasty as well.  Amber and I plan to go back for apps and custard someday soon.

Did I mention the cute little walk up window and adorable garden patio seating?

If I haven’t convinced you to get in your car and drive there right now, here are some other reviews:

  1. city pages says
  2. facebook says
  3. yelp says
  4. vita.mn talks about the bacon

To sum up, if I could marry this food, I would.  It was just that good.  Promise me you will visit soon?

One thought on “Let’s give S Mpls a Slow Clap

Leave a Reply

