I can’t get enough of the window shutters and flower boxes.

I can’t get enough of the adorable Bavarian style houses with cute roofs, window shutters, and blooming flowers boxes.  Even though that is what my camera was aimed at for 92% of the day, I promise to not bore you with a post entirely comprised of adorable homes.

After the Sound of Music tour (I will post on that tomorrow – there are a couple pictures I want to get to complete the story line for you), we headed up the mountain, past the glassed-in Red Bull headquarters, to Hallstatt.  On the way, I went on a Alpine Toboggan ride.  It was mostly super fun, but as you can see from my confusion on my face, there seemed to be a problem with my toboggan, and it wouldn’t go very fast.  But it was still enjoyable.  And some sheep watched me, so that was fun.  No one else from our group would do it; I was the lone brave soul. 

One of the highlights of the day was eating lunch in St. Gilgan, at a cute restaurant overlooking the Ludwigsee (Ludwig Lake) named for some guy, Ludwig, who was crazy and lived in a cave on a cliff.  The view was gorgeous, the food was scrumptious, and the Apfel Struedel we share for dessert was delightful.  The sun came out while we were sitting on the balcony.  It was so peaceful and so lovely. 

Our View

Then, on to Hallstatt (after stopping by a few more lakes on the way).  It is a World Heritage Site.  I don’t really know what that means, but it sounds official.  Charming, quaint, and sweet are a few adjectives to describe this cobblestone streeted town that is built mostly vertical with narrow walkways.  It was originally a salt mining community, and I believe still mines salt today.  Here are some of the sights of the city. 

3 thoughts on “I can’t get enough of the window shutters and flower boxes.

  1. I feel like you are living in a wonderful, magical world. I can’t wait to see more pictures and hear more stories!

  2. I love reading about your incredible adventures!! I am praying that you and Rachel have a wonderful and safe rest of your trip! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

