go hug a palm tree. or a MN Twin.

You might think that my biggest accomplishment of the week was parent-teacher conferences.  Or being a dominoes co-champion with a fellow Laura.

But no – my biggest accomplishment this week was buying plane tickets.  Yes, I will soon be escaping this cold, snowy, dreary place.  I cannot wait.  I hope that I remember what the sun looks like.

Don’t get me wrong – I love MN, I love winter, and I love snow.  But I hate January.  It is my least favorite month, and I cannot think of anything good about it.  And I’m ready to be done with winter.  Especially because I had an extra week of winter in August when I traveled south of the equator.  What was I thinking?

Purchasing plane tickets was a big accomplishment.  It was no easy task.  It was touch and go for a while.  For a while it seemed that my friends would be going and I would not.  Which was tricky since without me they have no place to stay.  Eventually we got it sorted out.  The stress of it all only caused me to cry a tiny bit out of my left eye.

I will be birthday-ing in Florida this year, and it is time to prepare.*

Here are some things on my to-do list.

  1. Go to Twins fest and get to know some of the players so we can set up some times to hang out while we are all in Florida.
  2. Create paper dolls of the Twins players** so that I will be more likely to recognize them in various potential street clothes.  No one wants a repeat of the Chicago incident of ’07, when I didn’t see Cuddyer at Wicked with us.  Embarrassing.
  3. Review elements of nature I may have forgotten since the snow fell upon us here in the tundra.  This includes, but is not limited to: sun, breeze, ocean, sand, warmth, and pool.  Pool is not nature.  But it is essential to the Florida experience.
  4. Prepare my presidential report for President’s Day.
  5. Pick a president to report on for President’s Day.
  6. Research if there are any Caribous in Florida to get my free coffee drink on my birthday.
  7. Get a few small dogs.
  8. Get a stroller for said dogs.  This is the only way to fit in at the Florida outlet mall.
  9. Create a townhouse paper chain to count down the days until vacation.
  10. Remind the Bible study ladies that we will be meeting on Valentine’s Day, but not on President’s Day.  Because like I told them last week: we care more about Presidents than about love.

I’m sure I’m forgetting a few things on my list, but it is good to have somewhere to start.

* I like to pretend that I am fancy and go to Florida for my birthday.  This is a lie.  I just happen to have a birthday that falls near a three day weekend.  And I am a teacher.  Thus, I don’t have to work on days like President’s Day.

** I am not actually a creepy stalker.  I do like the Twins, but there is a line, and for the most part, I do not cross it.

*** Here is photographic evidence supplied by my sister in reference to the Cuddyer incident of ’07.

3 thoughts on “go hug a palm tree. or a MN Twin.

  1. I’m so used to our pretend stalking that I forget not everyone will automatically know it is pretend. Good idea to clarify so people don’t think you are creepy.

    Also, I feel you have grown substanitally since the Cuddyer incident of ’07 and I have confidence you would be able to identify at least a few of the Twins outside of Target Field should you find a way to be in their vicinity in FL.

    p.s. not to burst your bubble, but I have yet to find a Caribou in FL. I will be very excited if you locate one. But if not, we can commiserate over no birthday caribou as I’ll be at the lake on my birthday yet again.

  2. I forgot about Caribou!!! Maybe they are building one right now because they know you will be there on your birthday.

    I also love our plans for hanging out with the Twins. It’s going to be SO fun!

  3. Since we are going to be spending such substantial amounts of time with the twins, I will probably find the state nearest for Florida with a Caribou at it, and then one of the Twins will most likely offer to have his pilot take me there in his personal helicopter. Or I will drink Starbucks instead. I don’t know what which way the cookie will crumble.

Leave a Reply

