A Special Day

Today was such a special day.  I can’t decide if it was good special or bad special.  So we will just stick with special.

  • We found this in one kid’s folder.  I’m considering changing the spelling of my name to one of these.  Maybe people will be able to pronounce it a little easier…

  • Several children now have secret handshakes they try and do with me regularly.  I am not sure why.
  • One kid told my EA that she smells like cookies and he is going to eat her.  After this, he began singing our Gingerbread song.
  • The class said, “Should he go to the nurse?” and I thought to myself “why would we send him to the nurse?”  I looked his direction and he looked fine.  Then he threw up all over.  How did the other kids know this was going to happen??
  • We had a bathroom/Spanish related “situation” that involved a crying student, myself, a translator, the nurse coming running down the hall with gloved hands stretched out in front her saying “Nurse M to the rescue!!”
  • During a reading lesson today, a little boy breaks out into song: “Hit me with your best shot…”
  • I asked, “Do you have any other questions?”  Little boy with curly hair raises his hand.  I call on him.  He says emphatically, “I love you!”
  • I had a couple of former students stop by with some pictures for me.  They are in first grade now.  The inside of a card was amazing.  It warms my heart.

In case you can’t read that, she has a picture of us at the top, then writes: You are the best teacher in the whole entire world.  I could never have a teacher as nice as you especially you.

Question: did her first grade teacher read what this little girl wrote?  And is she crying in her classroom right now? 😉

I hope that your day has been equally as exciting, perhaps with a little less of the bodily fluids.

2 thoughts on “A Special Day

  1. When my son was in kindergarten, he came home one day and told me that he loved his teacher more than me. Ah, that stung, until I realized I had to view his comment in a positive way. He was happy in school and liked his teacher, until the day he stuffed green beans into his milk carton and then fibbed about it. Suddenly he didn’t love his teacher quite so much anymore.

Leave a Reply

