just a spoonful of sugar…

Over the past month I have had more domestic moments than usual, so I thought I’d share them with you, as well as links to the delicious recipes!

For one of my many Rachels, I made oreo cupcakes for her birthday!  I wrote about my nervousness in making these a few weeks ago – mostly that that recipe looked great, but I wasn’t too sure about serving them for a birthday when I had never tried them before.

I need not have worried.  They were delicious!  I tested them out on my coworkers before Rachel’s party.  I even gave one to the custodian on my way out.  He still stops me in the hallway and tells me that I am the best cupcake baker he has ever met.

Rachel loves fall colors, and so naturally I sprinkled them with fall colors!  You should probably make these for your friends.  They will love you for it. http://www.beantownbaker.com/2007/09/cookies-n-cream-cupcakes-take-2.html

My Aunt Laurie, the family baker of all that is good, sent me a recipe for these:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I had been meaning to make them for weeks, but didn’t ever have time.  I finally managed to quick squeeze in a little baking adventure between conferences.  I had just enough time to get them finished before heading back to finish up.  They were delicious.  If I had to describe them, I’d say they taste like fall, in a chocolatey sort of way.

Here is the recipe:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies 

1 c. butter
2 c. sugar
2 eggs
15 oz. can pumpkin
4 c. flour
2 t. baking soda
2 t. baking powder
4 t. cinnamon
1 t. nutmeg
24 oz. chocolate chips

Bake at 350 for 15 min.

This week I decided that I would make Chicken Wild Rice Soup.  On a whim, I invited all of my friends over.  They happened to all be free on a random week night, and apparently the allure of free homemade dinner was enough to convince them all to drive up to my place, even though I tragically don’t live inside the freeway loop.  It was a great night of fun with friends, other than the part when we were forced to watch you tube videos of cats walking on treadmills.  Well, I guess I can admit that was kind of entertaining.  

I was a little bit nervous that it wouldn’t be ready in time, but it worked really well start ingredients on the stove, bringing it to a boil, and then switching it to the crock pot.  In fact, this made better soup than when I tried it again the following week.  Here is the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-wild-chicken–wild-rice-soup/Detail.aspx I changed a few things.  I used half and half instead of cream, I added extra carrots and celery, and for the rice I used Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice and I even included the seasoning from the package.

And finally, for my grand finale of baking, I made cupcakes for Tiffany’s birthday.  The only mishap I had was that I reheated my caribou in the microwave, put the lid back on (trapping all that steam in there) and then a few minutes later took a huge sip and tragically burnt my tongue.  It is still in pain two days later.  The lesson my sunday school children learned from this is that they should not eat dinner because I “told them” they should not eat hot food or they will also burn their tongues.  Sorry parents!  But I do think you kids are hilarious.  And I hope they will one day eat more food than what comes directly out of the freezer.

These cupcakes were QUITE the undertaking.  I slaved away in the kitchen pretty much all day.  I was glad that Tiff went upstairs to nap while I made them, since I made a huge mess.  You should make them.  But you should be warned:  You should not have any other plans for the rest of the day.  or of your life.  Because they are so complicated.  Or maybe they are only complicated if you are completely clueless in the kitchen, like I am.  “Just making it up” works out much of the time, but it is a very time consuming other times.

They even have a homemade raspberry-ness in the middle!  This is me, cutting it open to see if I got any in, or how much.

I have no more recipes to share, and probably won’t, since I have done about 6 months worth of time in the kitchen in the past month, but here is the link to these double chocolate raspberry cupcakes.  http://annies-eats.com/?s=double+chocolate+raspberry+cupcake.  You will love them.  My friend David, who doesn’t like cupcakes, ate two and took a third one home.  This may be because I made him eat the whole cupcake if he was going to just eat the raspberry off the top.  But I like to think that even a non-cake-eater likes them!

One thought on “just a spoonful of sugar…

  1. I am so honored to have made your blog! I made pumpkin cheesecake last week. It was amazing. I will make it again at Thanksgiving. I also made pumpkin cinnamon rolls – they were not-so-amazing. Iwill not be making them for Thanksgiving or any other occasion.

Leave a Reply

