Choo-Choo!

We took a train from Vancouver to Whistler.  I was very excited for this new mode of transportation on our trip, and rightfully so!  We got picked up from the lobby of our hotel (where favorite Shuttle Man was sure to say goodbye to “Minnesota” -as he called us- he will miss us).

We boarded the train, found our plush seats with ample leg room, and settled in the the ride.  We got breakfast and as many beverages as we wanted!!  I used considerable restraint though and limited myself to one cup of coffee and one diet coke.

The views were incredible the whole way.  From the Howe Sound, to waterfalls, rapids, flowers, and of course, the mountains.

One of my favorite places on the train was the Historic Open Air Car.  I love history, and I love air, so: win-win!

It was really great to be able to take pictures of the beauty surrounding us without the irritating glare of the windows.  With no effort on our part, we quickly made friends with the Train Man, Richard.  He wore an orange reflective vest, and stopped by our seats multiple times to tell me some photography tips – like going to the back of the train to get a great shot of us coming out of the tunnel, or that we should go claim a spot on the left side of the open air car because there was a gorgeous view coming up.  After like the seventh time (that might be an exaggeration) Train Man stopped by, an older lady across the aisle from us leaned over and whispered to my sister something about how it is nice to be a pretty young lady and we should take advantage of that for as long as possible.  hahaha.  awesome.

We were greeted in Whistler by looking up into the mountains and seeing the green Olympic rings!  It was pretty cool to see, because I guy I know from church growing up worked here in the winter and I saw pictures on his facebook of him helping put up some green Olympic rings.

Anyways, here are a few gorgeous train shots for you to enjoy.  I won’t share too many so that I’ll have something left to post on facebook when I get back to the states!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

