loves like a hurricane

God has taken such good care of me these past few weeks.  To be honest, I’ve been dreading this time from when school would be winding down to when I would leave.  Months ago, when I was looking ahead, all I could think about was how stressed I would be.  Ending the school year is always hard.  It is emotionally draining as well as physically exhausting.  We have multiple field trips where we are spending the day out in the sun and the heat.  My whole classroom has to be taken apart and packed up and all the furniture moved and it is such a big job.  Then there is this whole packing for two months deal.  And I suck at packing.  Or moreso I just don’t like it.  Last week as the school year was ending I would go to bed at night thinking about how tired I was.  I would think about the type of ministry schedule I’ll be on this summer and I felt weary and exhausted thinking about it.  How would I ever muster up the energy to love and serve.  I didn’t know when I would ever have time to sit down, much less catch up on sleep before I go.

But you know what?

God is good.  And He has taken such good care of me these past few weeks.

Ending the school year was still emotionally draining – it is tough to send some of these kiddos on that final bus ride home, knowing that their home life leaves much to be desired.

But the packing up of my classroom was the least stressful time in the past 7 years of doing this.  I had friends who dedicated hours of their time to help me.  I was truly blown away by their amazingness.  I still am.  You guys are awesome!

Friday after work I started packing for my trip, and by the end of the night, I was packed!  I have a few things to still tuck in, but overall it was a pretty effortless process.  I ended up with three suitcases, each one weighing just under 50 lbs  (and that was my goal).  I was able to organize my personal things and the many items being donated to the orphanage as well as fun teaching supplies and evenly distribute the weight on my first try!  So great!

And now I have been able to enjoy the weekend, relax, spend time with family and friends, and soak in the last few days in Minnesota.  I drove to church this morning reflecting on God’s goodness.  In the grand scheme of life, ending a school year and packing for a summer aren’t that big of a deal.  But still God is taking care of me and providing for my every need – even lending me some packing super powers.  :)

We sang this David Crowder song at church today and it really expressed how I am feeling – totally overwhelmed by God’s love – in the best way possible.

He is jealous for me, Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us so
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all

Leave a Reply

