all your questions (three of your questions) answered

I think the top three questions in my life right now are: 

1) When is the school year done?

2) When do you leave?

3) Where is Uganda.

So I’d like to take a moment and just share with you the answers.

1) June 7 (with kids) June 8 (without kids)

2) June 13 (yes, I realize that is fast turn around.  But you know me.  I’m a procrastinator and will spend as much time as I give myself getting ready for my trip.  I’d rather have more time between the end of my trip and the beginning of the school year)

3) Here is a map that I googled for your reference.

And here is some new Uganda news: while I’m there, I’ve been asked to visit the school the orphans attend as well as some other schools in the area to gain a better understanding of the how and the what that the kids are learning in school.  I will then work with the orphanage director to figure out what the Ugandan Orphanage Staff can implement to better help the children in their reading and math.  I’m excited to be able to put my teacher skills to good use in a way that is sustainable after I leave.

And now for some totally unrelated good news: If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you probably remember my student I referred to last year as my African Queen.  She had the biggest personality I’ve ever met in a small child and was a constant source of awesome entertainment for all.  Well… it looks like her little sister will be in my class next year!  Win!

I was also complimented yesterday by some random girls in the hallway on my bling-bling.  Guess what I’m going to be wearing to school a lot more often??  :)

 

Leave a Reply

