Homemade Granola!

This recipe is courtesy of my amazing Aunt Laurie.  If you get a recipe from her, you know it is going to be good.  I should probably get stickers for my cookbook that say, “Aunt Laurie Approved”.

It was super easy to make, and is obviously delicious!  (I know people don’t really trust my opinion on what is easy to make, but I promise you will also think it is easy)

 

Ingredients:*

  • 4 c Quick Cooking Oatmeal
  • 2 c Whole Almonds (raw or roasted – no salt)
  • 1/2 c Sunflower Seeds – no salt
  • 1/3 c Flax Seeds
  • 1/3 c Olive Oil
  • 2/3 c Honey
  • 1 c Golden Raisins
  • 1 c Chopped Dried Pineapple

Preheat oven to 300*  Line a large jelly roll pan with parchment paper.

In large bowl, mix the oats, almonds, sunflower seeds and flax seeds.  Warm the honey in microwave (this makes it easier to coat above mixture).  Add the honey and olive oil to the dry mixture and mix until well-coated.

Spread evenly over the prepared jelly roll pan, pressing down lightly with the back of your spoon. 

Bake 30-40 minutes until lightly browned. Allow to cool completely.  In large bowl, break apart the cooled granola.  Mix in the raisins and pineapple.  Store in an airtight container.

*Don’t let this recipe limit you – feel free to add whatever nuts or dried fruit you prefer!  

I like to eat it with yogurt and fruit.  But you do what you want to.  I’m not there to make sure you eat it the same as me. There are no rules here.

In case you are wondering how good it really is, my students were watching me eat it, and were quite envious.  They wanted to know where I got it.  They said they’d seen it on TV.  One kid said “ew” and I said “that makes me sad.”  So obviously they changed their tune and so now I can say that 100% of children think this looks delicious. 

One thought on “Homemade Granola!

Leave a Reply

