Spending an inch of gift cards, and other non-important things in life

Remember this picture? I finally brought my inch think stack of Target gift cards to the store to spend them.  After Cashier-Boy rang up my things, I said, “Please don’t hate me, but I have a lot of gift cards to use.”  He was quite good natured about it.  The ladies behind me in line?  Not so much.  I apologized to them.  To which they spent the rest of the time he was scanning all the gift cards sighing and mumbling under their breath.  Pull yourselves together ladies… your lives will go on.  You will survive this.  My receipt was approximately 26 miles long due to all the gift card scanning.  Awesome.

I only made one child cry this week, and I’d like to think that I helped another child stop crying.  So really, it all evens out in the end.

I hid some leftover cupcakes in my brother’s fridge when I went to his birthday party yesterday.  I wonder if he has found them yet.

The student becomes the teacher: 

You have a watch.  You can tell time.  You can’t go back in time.  Unless you build a time machine.

Thank you small child for the brief lesson in the boundaries of time.  For further reading, I will probably bring him this Time magazine article from 1991.  To think, if I hadn’t helped him get a paper towel, I never would have gotten this nugget of knowledge.

And now, I shall stop procrastinating and go back into work.  Fare the well.

One thought on “Spending an inch of gift cards, and other non-important things in life

  1. I’m a MAJOR gift card criminal. I always mean to spend them and then I just…forget that they’re all sitting ever-so-nicely in a stack on the desk. It’s a constant battle.

Leave a Reply

