Lower Your Expectations

You will be sad to hear that my most quotable student is in Africa for the next three weeks.  I know.  I’m not sure what I’ll do without my daily dose of ridiculousness from her either.  It is going to be tough, but we can get through this quote-drought together.

Here is a conversation from yesterday with a different student:

Student: Miss K, do you remember when you said you were like a Grandma?  That was so silly.

Teacher: Yes, that was silly (and I only vaguely remember this.  I have no context for how it came up.)

Student: Yeah, that was so silly.  Grandmas are big and strong and carry heavy things.

Teacher thinks: WHAT?!  THAT is how I am different from a Grandma????  ouch.

I will try to encourage the rest of the class to step up their game in the absence of Student A, but I make no promises.