… but Sunday is coming!

Last night I went to the Good Friday service at my church.  We looked at what happened in the week prior to Jesus’ death on the cross.  On Palm Sunday with Jesus’ triumphal entry in Jerusalem, the crowds were cheering and praising “Hosanna!”  On Friday they crucified him.  What happened?  What changed?  Read Luke 19:28-23 for the full story.

I mostly just wanted to share some lyrics with you today.  They are what Easter and Good Friday are all about.

from It Is Well With My Soul

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

From In Christ Alone

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave He rose again
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost it’s grip on me
For I am His and He is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ

from Jesus Paid It All

Oh praise the one who paid my debt and raised this life up from the dead

from Good Friday

I didn’t recognize that look in his eyes
When they cried
With a sorrow that no man has ever known
Hang him high, watch him die, hear the cry
Crucified, up on that God forsaken tree

From How Deep The Father’s Love For Us

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

One thought on “… but Sunday is coming!

Leave a Reply

