A told B and B told C, “I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree!”

I dressed up as the coconut tree from the classic children’s book:  Chicka Chicka Boom Boom for our Fall Festival (which, let’s be honest- it is just a fancy name for Halloween).  The kids loved it.  Not only was my class super impressed, calling me “Coconut Teacher”, but this week kindergartners I don’t even know see me in the hallway and say, “Hi Chicka Chicka Boom Boom”!

Naturally, I put my hat in Dramatic Play, so now the kiddos are LOVING wearing this palm tree hat, which is of course WAY too big for them.  HILARIOUS.

In other kindergarten related news, I was helping a child make some better choices this afternoon, when he angrily turned around, glaring at me, and threatened: “I’m gonna hurt your (insert pause here) Feelings!!  He had just kicked me, so I was anticipating needing to go into defense mode.  I was cracking up on the inside with that threat :) In case you are concerned, he was all talk, and did not even attempt to hurt my feelings.  Although I would be curious what insults he was going to try on me.

Today I also had to tell a child, “you can stop looking at me with your angry eyes”

Yesterday I was telling the kids about my weekend and said that I went to see a dance performance (sytycd) and one student asks “did they dance to ABC disco?” to which I responded: Surprisingly enough, they did not.  They did however (hilariously enough) dance to Justin Bieber”

And here is my favorite dance from the season:  We also saw this on the tour – so good!

seriously, you should watch it.  you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

