Whistler: a magical little village

I am fairly certain that Whistler is a charming village that was built by elves in Switzerland and sprinkled with pixie dust.

It is seriously so adorable – chalet-style architecture everywhere, nestled in the mountains, brick pedestrian only streets, and people with fun accents and tiny dogs everywhere.

I mean – how does it get better than dinner at The Little Eatery on Celebration Plaza:

With THIS view:

So many people tend to wander the streets dressed up in ridiculous costumes

(or wearing their hotel bathrobe)

that now I am starting to think that I am seeing costumed street performers everywhere.  But I am not.

We got up in the morning on our second day and went on the zipline!  It is probably one of my favorite life experiences – just below climbing a volcano and snorkeling.  I am really glad that Rachel had a great time as well!  She was real nervous.  But she did GREAT!  I was going to put up a video, but my blog and I are in a fight, so maybe we will go with a photo instead.

We also went up the ski lift to take the gondola from Blackcomb Mountain to Whistler mountain!  It was awesome.  People were very friendly in the chairs going the opposite direction.  One guy even proposed – to which I quickly said “yes” before my sister could snatch up this winner for herself.  The view at the top of the mountain was breathtaking.  The ride between the mountains was amazing, and the view on the next mountain was also surreal.  It was also a little bit cold.  We may or may not have been dressed for the weather at the top of the mountain.  It is hard to say.

On our way down in the little gondola, we were with a nice couple from Tennessee, and chatting about how we were both disappointed to have not seen any bears yet.  I was little mid-saying how I am so bad at spotting things that I could be staring right at a bear and not even notice, when we realized that we were actually looking right AT a bear down below us!  SUPER fun.

We also had the best ice cream in the world after dinner tonight.  (or at least that is what the sign told us).  Just a few more Whistler adventures in the morning tomorrow and then it is back to Vancouver to wrap up our vacation.

2 thoughts on “Whistler: a magical little village

Leave a Reply

